Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

– Speakers –

– Speakers Include –

MC – Dee Madigan

Dee Madigan is a well-known panellist on Gruen, a creative Director with a strong background in social and political marketing, and a board member of Australians for Mental Health and Per Capita Australia.

Dr Dani Larkin

Dr Dani Larkin is a Bundjalung, Kungarakany woman from Grafton, NSW. Known for her commentary on issues of First Nations justice in the national media, Dr Larkin is a public lawyer and representative of the Senior Dialogue Leadership group for the Uluru Statement from the Heart. Dr Larkin is a Lecturer and Deputy Director of the Indigenous Law Centre at UNSW.

Cathy McGowan

Cathy came to national attention when she won the seat of Indi as an independent in 2013.  The community backed her again in 2016.  In 2019 Indi made Australian political history when Dr Helen Haines was elected as Indi’s second, independent woman. During her time as a politician Cathy actively worked in Parliament to develop policy around regional development, constitutional change for first nations people and a solution to the indefinite detention of asylum seekers.  In 2019 she was awarded The Accountability Round Table award for political integrity. She is an Officer in the Order of Australia, a Churchill fellow and lives very happily on her farm in the Indigo Valley in NE Victoria.

Dr Richard Denniss

Dr Richard Denniss is a prominent Australian economist, author and public policy commentator. Richard was described by Mark Kenny in the Sydney Morning Herald as “a constant thorn in the side of politicians on both sides due to his habit of skewering dodgy economic justifications for policy”.

This conference is hosted by the NSW Council of Social Service (NCOSS) and is supported by funding from the NSW government under the Social Sector Transformation Fund (SSTF) 2021-2022 grant program.